Week 7 Reflection – Stephen Perse Foundation

reflection7This weeks blog reflection is about the Stephen Perse Foundation blog. The blog is run by Tricia Kelleher who is a principal who explores the implications of technology in the 21st century. This blog offers several articles about being a modern day educator. The first thing I did once discovering this blog was research the Stephen Perse foundation and something that I saw really stuck with me.

What happens on the sports field, in our art and music department, on the stage or in our clubs and societies is just as important.

I often feel that teachers don’t acknowledge that learning can happen outside of the classroom. Sports and extra curricular activities are often just as important to learn real life skills as a history class. I like that this foundation encourages learning in all aspects.

One of the articles that I read discussed the digital age and the effect that it plays on reading. Some say that with all of the technological advancements, reading is going out the window. The article discusses both sides of the controversy and uses interviews to support each claim. I found this article  and its claims interesting. It shows the importance of using technology as a tool to enhance reading and not the other way around. Overall, I found this blog very informational and a good read!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *