Interactive Whiteboards & Screencasting, My first Screencast!

explain everything

Explain Everything – $2.99

To create my first screencast, I downloaded the application, Explain Everything. Explain Everything is an interactive whiteboard that allows the user to explain content through a previously recorded series of steps. The user can upload photos and videos, then comment on them through the use of the tools that the application allows.

For my screencast, I decided to do a tutorial on the application Notability. Notability is a note taking application that I use quite frequently for my classes. I made sure to use something that I was familiar with, that way I could really explain the app and make a useful tutorial. Essentially, I opened up the app and took several screen shots of different aspects of Notability. Then when I made my screencast, I uploaded those screenshots, used the whiteboard feature to draw and further elaborate my tutorial and used the voice recording step to add an auditory explanation of what features I was trying to explain. Below is my first screencast.

I found this application very easy to use. It took a few tries to get the video exactly how I wanted it, but that’s not unusual when trying an app for the first time. While I was using this app, I thought of using Explain Everything to have either students or myself create a cooking tutorial. This could be used as a student project, or as a teacher, if I plan on missing class one day, I could have the substitute show my tutorial video. Students in a fashion class could make a project where they explain a specific style or trend using Explain Everything. There are several different ways to utilize this application in a FACS classroom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *